The Asian American Faculty, Staff and Alumni Association (AAFSAA) was established in 1989 at the University of Arizona to support and recognize the achievements and interests of Asian American faculty, staff, alumni, and students. It is the mission of AAFSA to develop partnerships between UA organizations and community business, professional, and service organizations to promote the academic, intellectual, and cultural needs and interests of the UA community and its broader constituency and to foster greater understanding and appreciation of Asian or Pacific American traditions and heritages.


AAFSAA 26th Anniversary 
2015 Faculty & Staff Award Recipients and Scholarship Dinner 


The University of Arizona Asian American Faculty, Staff and Alumni Association (AAFSAA) — with the University of Arizona Alumni Association (UAAA) — is celebrating its 26th anniversary this year. AAFSAA is pleased to announce its 2015 Outstanding Faculty and Staff Award recipients. Join AAFSAA in congratulating:

2015 Outstanding Faculty Members (in alphabetical order)

C. Kent Kwoh, M.D.
College of Medicine - Arizona Arthritis Center
Mohammad Pessarakli, Ph.D.
School of Plant Sciences


2015 Outstanding Staff Members (in alphabetical order)

Jennifer Cubeta, M.Ed.
Undergraduate Biology Research Program
Tharini Wijeweera, B.A., B.S.
College of Science


Kellie Terhune Neely is this year’s Outstanding Alumni recipient.
Bernice Gin is this year’s Outstanding Community Service recipient.

The collective achievements of these individuals represent the highest professional levels of excellence, diversity and depth of scholarship, service and talent. AAFSAA extends sincere appreciation to participating candidates, nominators, and letter supporters. 

Our distinguished awardees will be honored at AAFSAA’s 26th Annual Scholarship & Awards Dinner Celebration, in collaboration with the Asian American Cultural Association (AACA), a UA student-run organization. Additionally, this celebration will also recognize outstanding student-scholars. 

What: AAFSAA’s 26th Annual Scholarship & Awards Dinner Celebration

When: Saturday, Nov. 7, 6-9 p.m.

Location: The Tucson Chinese Cultural Center (TCCC), 1288 W. River Road, Tucson. 

Tickets: Tickets for this event are still available and may be purchased for $75 per ticket (the tax deductible portion of the ticket is $50 as a contribution towards the AAFSAA scholarship and grants programs and the AAFSAA scholarship endowment). Cick here to purchase tickets!

For event questions, please contact Cheryl Tomoeda at


Awarding scholarships with the charitable support of donors, friends, and the Arizona community is one of the most important things we do! Scholarships provide access to college for students who otherwise could not afford it, bring the best and brightest minds to the UA, and energize the economy through employment, internships, and research.

Criteria for scholarship recipients

UA Alumni Association scholarships are awarded in two categories: Merit-based — to attract and retain students of exceptional academic quality, and need-based — for students who demonstrate great financial need. (Need-based scholarship applicants must complete a free application for federal student aid.)


Board of Directors

  • Dr. Theodore Tong, president
  • Peter Chan, vice president
  • Cheryl Tomoeda, treasurer
  • Linda Don, member
  • Howard Eng, member
  • John Fung, member
  • Caryn Jung, member
  • Patsy Lee, member
  • Josie Gin  Morgan, member
  • Danthai Xayaphanh, member
  • Silvia Xu, member



AAFSA relies on donations and community support to fund events and its scholarship fund. AAFSA greatly appreciates donations of any size (which are tax deductible).

Donate to AAFSA