The Asian American Faculty, Staff and Alumni Club (AAFSA) was established in 1989 at the University of Arizona to support and recognize the achievements and interests of Asian American faculty, staff, alumni, and students. It is the mission of AAFSA to develop partnerships between UA organizations and community business, professional, and service organizations to promote the academic, intellectual, and cultural needs and interests of the UA community and its broader constituency and to foster greater understanding and appreciation of Asian or Pacific American traditions and heritages.


The University of Arizona Asian American Faculty, Staff and Alumni Club (AAFSA) is pleased to announce its annual 2015 Call for Nominations!

The two nomination categories represent four award opportunities:

  • AAFSA 2015 Outstanding Faculty and Staff Awards: Application
  • AAFSA 2015 Outstanding Alumni and Community Service Awards: Application 

Nominee criteria, instructions and contact information may be found on the applications. The deadline for nominations is noon on Sept. 23, 2015.

AAFSA will honor University of Arizona faculty and staff as well as outstanding student-scholars, alumni, and community members during its 26th anniversary dinner celebration on Saturday, Nov. 7.  

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Caryn Jung at


AAFSA 25th Silver Anniversary 
2014 Faculty & Staff Award Recipients and Scholarship Dinner 


The University of Arizona Asian American Faculty, Staff and Alumni Club (AAFSA) celebrated its 25th anniversary in 2014. Here are the 2014 Outstanding Faculty and Staff Award recipients: 

Outstanding Faculty Member
Dr. Xubin Zeng
Atmospheric Sciences
College of Science
Outstanding Faculty Member
Dr. Andrew Tang
College of Medicine 
Outstanding Staff Member
Jacob Chinn
Director of Photography
UA Alumni Association

Outstanding Alumni
Jacqueline Larriva


Outstanding Community Service
Kun Sun (Shawn) Kim and Kyoung Ra (Kay) Kim



Awarding scholarships with the charitable support of donors, friends, and the Arizona community is one of the most important things we do! Scholarships provide access to college for students who otherwise could not afford it, bring the best and brightest minds to the UA, and energize the economy through employment, internships, and research.

Criteria for scholarship recipients

UA Alumni Association scholarships are awarded in two categories: Merit-based — to attract and retain students of exceptional academic quality, and need-based — for students who demonstrate great financial need. (Need-based scholarship applicants must complete a free application for federal student aid.)


Board of Directors

  • (Dr.) Theodore Tong, president
  • Peter Chan, vice president
  • Cheryl Tomoeda, treasurer
  • Howard Eng, member
  • Shiraz Ali Peera, member
  • Linda Don, member
  • Patsy Lee, member
  • Caryn Jung, member
  • Josie Gin  Morgan, member
  • Runa Bhattacharyya, member
  • Raji Rhys Wietecha, member
  • Danthai Xayaphanh, member



AAFSA relies on donations and community support to fund events and its scholarship fund. AAFSA greatly appreciates donations of any size (which are tax deductible).

Donate to AAFSA