Asian American Faculty, Staff & Alumni (AAFSA)

Asian women performing a fan dance

The Asian American Faculty, Staff and Alumni community - AAFSA - was established in 1989 at the University of Arizona to support and recognize the achievements and interests of Asian American faculty, staff, alumni, and students (particularly through scholarship awards).

Volunteer-driven, AAFSA (pronounced “af-sah”) promotes affinity and engagement among its diverse community that forges deeper connections to UArizona. AAFSA initiates collaborations with Alumni and other campus, professional and service partners to foster and celebrate a greater understanding and appreciation of Asian Pacific Islander Desi American (APIDA) heritage, culture and contributions.


Theodore Tong



Awarding scholarships with the charitable support of donors, friends, and the Arizona community is one of the most important things we do. Scholarships provide access to college for students who otherwise could not afford it and bring the best and brightest minds to the university.


AAFSA relies on donations and community support to fund events and its scholarship fund. The community greatly appreciates donations of any size.

Board of Directors

  • Theodore Tong, president
  • Peter Chan, vice president
  • Cheryl Tomoeda, treasurer
  • Josie Gin, secretary
  • Linda Don, member
  • Howard Eng, member
  • John Fung, member
  • Caryn Jung, member
  • Pasty Lee, member
  • Dan Xayaphanh, member
  • Silvia Xu, member